Esvon Classifieds Unofficial Support Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
  Home    Help    Search    Login    Register  
*
Sep 05, 10, 09:10
Esvon Classifieds Unofficial Support Board  |  Esvon Classifieds  |  Wish list (Moderators: isell, SeVende)  |  Topic: Visual Confirmation Advanced search
 
Pages 1
Author
Locked Topic Topic: Visual Confirmation  (Read 2843 times)
« on: Mar 06, 05, 23:24 »
mgravlee Offline
Apprentice classifier
*
Posts: 22

WWW

I would like to have Visual Confirmation as an option on the registration form to prevent robots from registering and placing ads.  Since I added it to my phpbb forums registering by robots has totally stopped.

I am getting several "penpal" ads a day on my classifieds, all from the same person.  Multiple geocities site, multiple Yahoo addresses and multiple IPs. 
Logged

Agricultural Classified Ads
http://agads.net/
 
Reply #1
« on: Mar 07, 05, 10:12 »
isell Offline
Moderator
Fearless Classifier
****
Posts: 213

WWW

mgravlee,

I suspect those penpal / geocities personal ads are coming from Romania.  I can't remember what the IP address ranges are but if you do a whois (it will probably take you to RIPE whois) on the IP to back into the ISP that they are using you can block the entire range using .htaccess "deny from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/yy " - note the IP address needs to be in CIDR format - here's a tool that will calculate it for you - http://www-networks.its.unimelb.edu.au/network_ranges.cgi  .

Just make sure the range is from Romania and not AOL U.S.  Wink 

I've also seen a lot of email harverters from Romania and I've blocked them using the same process.

I'm working on a misbehaving spider / email harverter block that runs unattended and is dynamic.  As soon as I've got it in production I'll post it here for use.

Take care,

-jay


Logged

 
Reply #2
« on: Mar 08, 05, 14:15 »
mgravlee Offline
Apprentice classifier
*
Posts: 22

WWW

Well, duhhhh.  I assumed that with US addresses and websites they were using a US Yahoo IP connection.  Roll Eyes

The RIPE IP range is now blocked.  Thanks for the tip.

One more question.  How do you block this Nigerian scammer:
 IP: 1.1 proxy:3128 (squid/2.5.STABLE4) (for 192.168.0.25))
Logged

Agricultural Classified Ads
http://agads.net/
 
Reply #3
« on: Mar 08, 05, 18:50 »
isell Offline
Moderator
Fearless Classifier
****
Posts: 213

WWW

Be careful. . . Esvon is in the RIPE address space as are Colin, and Charles and some others that you may need assistance from Wink

Can you pull the IP address of the proxy server out of your log files?  It's there you just have to dig for it.

-jay

Logged

 
Reply #4
« on: Sep 30, 06, 10:08 »
charles Offline
Admin
Fearless Classifier
*****
Posts: 867

WWW

Visual confirmation has been available since ver 3.0.797 or thereabouts and ver.4 has it on all forms you can think of, so closing this thread,
Logged

ecusb.com founder and administrator (but I do not work for Esvon!)
Esvon Classifieds on: www.rentahomeabroad.com |   Esvon Classifieds Manual

mysql> SELECT * FROM `users` WHERE `users`.`clue` > 0;
Empty set (0.00 sec)
 
Print  Pages 1
Esvon Classifieds Unofficial Support Board  |  Esvon Classifieds  |  Wish list (Moderators: isell, SeVende)  |  Topic: Visual Confirmation
Jump to: