Esvon Classifieds Unofficial Support Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
  Home    Help    Search    Login    Register  
*
Jul 30, 10, 02:49
Esvon Classifieds Unofficial Support Board  |  Esvon Classifieds  |  Day to day issues (Moderator: isell)  |  Topic: Weirdness with Tell-A-Friend Advanced search
 
Pages 1
Author
Topic: Weirdness with Tell-A-Friend  (Read 377 times)
« on: Mar 07, 10, 19:30 »
RonSanSolo Offline
ecusb.com supporter
Fearless Classifier
****
Posts: 115



While running my EC site, there have been a number of times when I receive copies of some very strange Tell-A-Friend confirmations. I have no idea what these are. Are these hackers?

The "From" person would be some weird string like "ikllejsf" and a strange email address. They'll send the Tell-A-Friend to 4 or 5 different "people" all with the same weird names & email addresses. And the comment would be again something strange like:

"1ZpmG5  <a href=\"http://yxddvbbqjypo.com/\">yxddvbbqjypo[/url], xabtlmpeotbh, [link=http://vmmwtqnczaev.com/]vmmwtqnczaev[/link], http://skggucklbuvo.com/"

I've been placing their IP's in the Banned IPs template, but just curious if someone can confirm whether these are hackers and what they're trying to do via the Tell-A-Friend.

Thank you,
Ron
Logged
 
Reply #1
« on: Mar 16, 10, 12:26 »
charles Offline
Admin
Fearless Classifier
*****
Posts: 866

WWW

Spammers I guess - there's a similar issue with this site - about 99% of new users have weird email address/names - when I google them they come back with links to sites that belong to the twilight zone, hence they never get approved to post.
Logged

ecusb.com founder and administrator (but I do not work for Esvon!)
Esvon Classifieds on: www.rentahomeabroad.com |   Esvon Classifieds Manual
 
Print  Pages 1
Esvon Classifieds Unofficial Support Board  |  Esvon Classifieds  |  Day to day issues (Moderator: isell)  |  Topic: Weirdness with Tell-A-Friend
Jump to: